ISA215-HYD module reverse engineering => involved in p1a15-error-condenser-charge-timeout

Mitsubishi i-MiEV Forum

Help Support Mitsubishi i-MiEV Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

iso14000

Hi Folks

I would like to reverse this little board. I'm a skilled electronic engineer that bough a Ion (Peugeot) same as Imiev
I don't have yet the issue (crossing fingers).
The subject starts to be sensitive in France as cars are getting older. Here peoples are only implementing the "resistor patch" as a solution.
I personnaly don't like it because the root cause isn't clear and the situation can be worth as time goes by.
I also would like to thanks members from this forum for all the very enteresting posts : pictures and diagrams are very usefull.

let's start about the core subject :
this daughter board is a voltage isolator with a fixed gain =1, everybody here know that now :)
transfering an analogical value across a isolation fence isn't very straight forward. Classically we have only two media : light and magnetism (yes radio waves also :) )
using light is possible with very specific optocoupler but precision suffer with aging and generally must be calibrated (not good in automotive industry) , they are also forbidden in space application but it is out of focus.
So it is not a surprise to fin transformer onboard : One to transfer energy from the "process side" to the "measurment size" and the seconde one to transfert voltage.
after a glance on your picture I can tell that energy tranfert is performed by a push-pull SMPS topology , almost for sure.
transfering an analogical value thru a tranformer is a little bit more tricky because of the volt-second balance rule, that's why more circuitery is necessary , the solution used here seems to be a synchrone demodulation.
but I'm not sure....