What type of amp charger to buy to speed up charge time

Mitsubishi i-MiEV Forum

Help Support Mitsubishi i-MiEV Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lief

Without buying a level 2. It came with an 8 amp but i heard there is 12 or 15 amp?

Just bought a 2012 white iMiEV($12,500) about 2,000km away(Peterborough to Winnipeg). Cost about $930 to ship.

Car shows 74km fully charged but dealer says it drives alot further then it shows. It has about 34,000kms. What could i really expect driving mostly 0-50kms/hr, 3-4hrs, total 60-80kms a day? I work as a courier.

Also has one remote/2keys. While plugged in, could i warm up my car in the winter months while i get ready?

Proud to be part of the EV family.
Lief

Your best bet is to replace the charging "brick" (EVSE) that came with the car for one that will do both level one and level 2 (240 volts). The 8 amp, 120 volt unit is not worth upgrading as the cabling to the connector and internal components are too small. As noted many times on this forum, one route to go is to get a replacement upgraded unit from evseupgrade.com. A unit such as they provide will charge the car at it's maximum rate when plugged into a 240 volt circuit. You can connect multiple input cords to the unit and it will work on both 120 and 240 volts with automatic switching. If you don't want to spend that kind of money, look for a used LEAF EVSE on places like e-bay. They were similar to the Mitsubishi unit but charge at 12 amps, 120 volts out of the box. I believe a modified LEAF unit is what you would get from evseupgrade. BTW--welcome to the forum and your new I-MiEV!

Welcome to the forum and congratulations on your i Miev purchase

+1 what siai47 said .
You can also send yours to them and have it up graded but that takes some time that you may not have.

here is a link to a recent discussion on EVSE options

http://myimiev.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=3099