Should we get a 2014?

Mitsubishi i-MiEV Forum

Help Support Mitsubishi i-MiEV Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cdysthe

Hi,

We've been looking for an iMiev for a while but they have slipped away or been too far away for us to be able to buy them. Now our local CarMax has one. It's a 2014 with nearly 30K miles on it for $5990. CarMax is where we have gotten all our vehicles over the last few years so we feel comfortable buying from them. They also give us a great trade in for our older car. We have already decided on an iMiev. It is perfect for our use as a popping around town vehicle. For longer trips we have our trusty Outlander GT. Our main worry is the 30K miles. The car looks perfect and nearly new, but those 30K miles make me worry a bit. I have no experience with EV's and do not know what 30K miles does to a battery. Should we get this (blue) 2014, or keep looking? The CarMax warranties are good, but I do not know how their translate to an EV.

Any advice greatly appreciated. Happy Holidays btw! :)

The battery is warranted against failure for 10 years or 100K miles, so getting a 2014 gives you a couple extra years of warranty vs buying a 2012. How the battery holds up has proven to be pretty much a non-issue. Failures are pretty rare and Mitsu has been great about getting the car fixed at no charge

Since this one is local to you and the price is very good for the year/miles, I would say "Go for it!" . . . . before another one slips away

Don

Go for it.

After owning an i-miev for four years I would not hesitate to buy a used ev that was in good shape.

Pete