Onboard charger repair

Mitsubishi i-MiEV Forum

Help Support Mitsubishi i-MiEV Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

zsandor

Hi,
i am owner since a year of a I-miev clone, a Citroen C-zero, build year 2012. It was my wish to buy a used full electric powered car, to act on my own against the climate change. I was criticized by my wife, spending that much money on a small car, newertheless it worked fine till december, as my onboard charger failed. Since that day i could no more charge my car, so i stopped it using. I found a electrician, he is refurbishing onboard chargers, here comes my problem: there is near my town no one, that could dismount the charger so i could send it to refubish.
I am not a electrician, but a mechanical engineer, and have a lot done before on my other not e-cars - is it possible, to disassamble the charger by my own? I do not have experience working on a e-car, could you please give me a precise advice, how to proceed?
(My sad background and motivation is, that my wife wants to divorce, so i need drastically to reduce the budget for the repair, having not the money needed for a full service, letting to travel the car through the other end of the country :-( hope to find help)
Thanks!

That’s some bad luck, sorry to hear. Please note that your car should DC Fast charge normally, but you’ll need to manually recharge the 12V battery and preferably run an auxiliary 12V input, such as through the cigarette lighter- style 12V outlet. I’d recommend getting a collision salvage charger and swapping it. The exchange is straightforward and described in other threads, but I’ll write up a quick procedure from memory.